1. Home
  2. Press Releases
  3. Gov. Lujan Grisham signs electric vehicle accord

Gov. Lujan Grisham signs electric vehicle accord

Dec 13, 2019 | Press Releases

Pact unifies eight intermountain states

SANTA FE – Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham and seven other governors today reaffirmed their partnership to develop electric vehicle charging infrastructure along major highways in the Intermountain West and released voluntary minimum standards for those charging stations. Gov. Lujan Grisham signed the new REV West Memorandum of Understanding, along with governors from Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Utah and Wyoming. The document updates a similar agreement signed in October 2017 with a goal to ensure drivers can “seamlessly drive an electric vehicle across the Signatory States’ major transportation corridors.” “New Mexico’s commitment to electric vehicles is unwavering and vital to our goals to reduce carbon emissions,” Gov. Lujan Grisham said. “Buyers need to know that if they invest in electric vehicles, they’ll be able to drive where they need to go, recharging as needed. This agreement is an important step toward meeting that commitment.” The new document will guide actions by the REV West states as they work to enable public and private sector investment in electric vehicle (EV) charging stations and grow EV adoption in the region. The REV West states also released voluntary minimum standards for Direct-Current Fast Charging (DCFC) stations, including standards for administration, interoperability, operations and management. The standards are the result of collaboration between the signatory states, with input from the private sector, as required in the 2017 REV West MOU. The voluntary minimum standards are meant to guide the public and private sectors in developing their EV charging stations, ensure a consistent and easy experience for EV owners, and inform station developers of expectations for DCFC stations in the region. Each REV West state will determine how to apply these standards. REV West is a collaboration of eight intermountain states, and is facilitated by the National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO). For more information about REV West, please visit the REV West webpage.

Press Release Archive



The Office of Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham is located on the fourth floor of the New Mexico State Capitol in Room 400.

490 Old Santa Fe Trail Room 400
Santa Fe, NM 87501

Phone: (505) 476-2200
Toll free: (833) 520-0020

Flag Status

Flag Status Full Mast