1. Home
  2. Press Releases
  3. Gov. makes appointments to New Mexico Finance Authority

Gov. makes appointments to New Mexico Finance Authority

Jul 26, 2019 | Press Releases

SANTA FE – Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham on Friday appointed new members to the New Mexico Finance Authority.

The governor appointed Katherine Miller, Leslie Nathanson Juris, David Martinez, Martin Suazo and Andrew Burke. The governor appointed Miller as chairwoman.

Other members of the authority are the secretaries of Finance and Administration; Economic Development; Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources; Environment; the executive director of the Municipal League; and the executive director of the New Mexico Association of Counties.

Katherine Miller is county manager of Santa Fe County. She previously served on the finance authority from 2006 to 2010 and was the Mortgage Finance Authority’s executive director from 2004 to 2006. She was also the state Secretary of Finance and Administration from 2006 to 2010.

Leslie Nathanson Juris is president of a Santa Fe-based consulting firm and was a founding managing director of another consulting group based in Chicago. She was formerly board director of Los Alamos National Bank and has taught at the business schools of various higher-education institutions, including Northwestern and Smith.

David Martinez has served in various roles at the Pueblo of Laguna, most recently as tribal treasurer, supervising the pueblo’s financial affairs. He has previously served as 1st lieutenant governor. He has also worked in revenue management and business development for Heritage Hotels and other leading hospitality companies.

Martin Suazo is the owner of Eagle Stove Co., based in Las Vegas, N.M. He is also a longtime board member of the New Mexico Sentencing Commission and developer and partner with the Tishman Group; he has been chair of the New Mexico Land Trust Advisory Board and was formerly a mental health counselor.

Andrew Burke is the senior vice president for administration and finance at New Mexico State University, where he is also a board member for the Arrowhead Center and Aggie Development Inc. He was formerly vice president of business and finance at Doña Ana Community College and served briefly as interim campus president. Burke is the higher education chief financial officer appointment to the board.

Press Release Archive



The Office of Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham is located on the fourth floor of the New Mexico State Capitol in Room 400.

490 Old Santa Fe Trail Room 400
Santa Fe, NM 87501

Phone: (505) 476-2200
Toll free: (833) 520-0020

Flag Status

Flag Status Full Mast